Facebook

» Online Users: 86

0 members and 86 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 1,700, 09-01-2015 at 04:06 PM.

» google ads

» Classifieds - Random Ads

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Photoshopping boa pics?

I saw a thread today that mentioned something that’s been on my mind for some time. It regards editing or "photoshopping" boa pics.

As a graphic designer by trade let me just say that I use Photoshop to keep my photos sharp and exposure corrected and never hid that fact in the forums. In fact I’m the only one who openly posted that I edit photos and have shown step by step mini tutorials on how I do it.

The truth is that as a photographer it’s difficult to get a perfect photo every time to meet the standards of photography and I believe anyone who has the knowledge to fix photos to represent what they feel the animal really looks like, will indeed do so. Just because you shot a photo and post it “as is” is a far cry from saying that photo represents what you really saw or what the boa really looks like as Nikon or Canon did not guarantee that was the case by simply pressing the shutter. Why would someone say because I didn't edit the photo its an accuarate representation of what the animal really looks like?

I hope that all editors don't enhance color and saturation on photos so people don't feel the need to make defensive "no Photoshop plugs" which always gets my attention since I am a certified photoshop expert.

I've told everyone from JB to Charles or anyone from RI that took an interest in photography on the phone that it’s my belief that Photoshopping a photo to have people drool over it in the forums when the animal doesn't really look the way it is represented fools no one but the owner. You are the only fool looking at the drab boa in your collection everyday.

I'm fortunate that most of my boas came from people on here who can attest that my photos represent the animals they sold to me.