Facebook

» Online Users: 86

0 members and 86 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 1,700, 09-01-2015 at 04:06 PM.

» google ads

» Classifieds - Random Ads

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Picture timeline of breeding...

Often times, these forums become just a picture gallery. I LOVE IT when there are pictures galore. But we also come here to learn. This is my contribution to that. I thought some may appreciate this as they try to learn more about boas and breeding them. I know I would have studied pics like this with a magnifying glass back before I ever bred any boas together.

I absolutely do NOT consider myself a breeder or even someone with more answers than questions. I'm the opposite! I'm just a hobbyist who has more questions than answers and is trying his best to learn what he can. I consider myself VERY lucky to have produced a few litters of BCC. Here's a picture tour of how my latest litter came to be.

Introduction 2/27
    The male is laying on the back half of the female so her body is depressed a bit back there, but you can see how "squared off" she is. Like a loaf of bread. She doesn't look like she spent the last 6 years at an all you can eat buffet (no flat tire look and NO tail rings) and she's only about 5'9" at this time. She weighed about 9 lbs if I remember correctly.

Preovulation swelling 3/10 (less than 2 weeks later)
    Notice the "squared off" look is gone in favor of this rotund body shape in the middle third of her body

More swelling 4/1
    Notice the slight lean and again, her body is not square.

OOPS! Missed! 4/10
    This is why I had a slug in the litter! lol

6 days prior to ovulation - 4/11
    Notice the slight vertical bulge and also notice that the male isn't CONSTANTLY going to work on her, but is keeping active.

about a day and a half prior to ovulation - 4/16