Facebook

» Online Users: 86

0 members and 86 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 1,700, 09-01-2015 at 04:06 PM.

» google ads

» Classifieds - Random Ads

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 5 Minute Photos

Post Thanks / Like

Default 5 Minute Photos

Lately a lot of people have asked me how I shoot my photos indoors, so I figured I'd do a mini-session of how I go through my shooting process. Please note that I'm not a professional photographer, nor do I even consider myself a good photographer. It's completely a hobby and any info I share with you is probably not the best of way of doing it; it's just my way.

First and foremost, lets get the equipment out of the way. This is the equipment that I generally use when shooting my boas:

1. Nikon D90 + Nikon 18-108 mm Kit Lens
    2. Nikon SB-900
    3. Photoflex Umbrella
    4. Westcott 6-in-1 Reflectors and Diffusers
    5. And an assortment of light stands and poster boards

I will explain how I use these equipment in a second, but before I go on, note that you don't have to use the same stuff I'm using. You could get the same quality photos (if not better) with cheaper equipment as long as you understand the principles behind how they work.

I personally don't have a whole lot of time to shoot photos of my boas, so I like to do things quick and dirty. I usually spend about 5-10 minutes taking photos of my boas, and while the pictures aren't perfect, they manage to do the job.

The two biggest things I focus on are quality of light and composition; everything else is just for fun!!

To most accurately depict your boa in a photo, your light quality has to be soft and clean. One of the best way to achieve this is to diffuse your light source. Typical light sources (flash or afternoon sunlight) are harsh lights and when they hit your subject, they create very hard shadows that aren't always pleasing (this is not always true - hard light is sometimes desired based on application).